RU
SERGEY KISHCHENKO. OBSERVATION JOURNAL
23.11.2017 - 22.12.2017
Ruarts Foundation for Contemporary Art and Federal Agency of Scientific Organizations Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution "Federal Research Center The N.I. Vavilov All-Russian Institute of Plant Genetic Resources" (VIR) present the project of Sergey Kishchenko "Observation Journal".

The exhibition will be open from November 23 until December 22, 2017
Mon - Fri, 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m
Venue: VIR, Bolshaya Morskaya Street, 42. St. Petersburg, Russia

Exhibition is dedicated to 130th anniversary of Nikolai Vavilov’s birth and supported by Ruarts Foundation for Contemporary Art.


The art project "Observation Journal" began in 2014 with the historical research and continued in 2015 as a symbolic reconstruction of seventy-year-old events based on the research of N.I. Vavilov - the history of seed collection saved during the Siege of Leningrad (Blockade), collected by this great scientist and experts of the All-Union Plant Research Institute (USSR). The fate of this collection that was seized by the Nazis in the occupied Eastern territories formed the basis of the experimental sowings of the SS-Institute of Plant Genetics situated in Schloss Lannach (Graz, Austria).

In the process of reconstruction, Sergey Kishchenko (together with RESANITA / Anita Fuchs, Resa Pernthaller/ the group of artists from Graz, Austria) assumed that the empirical experience of historical reconstruction can become a source of objective historical knowledge and possibility of going beyond media reality. The result of this work was the land art project "Field of Communication"- a field, grown by artists, was presented as a work of art.

In 2016 the "Observation Journal" project attracted new researchers from both sides - Russian and Austrian, and strengthened the existing connextions and thankfully to those links work on the project continues to this day. Today the "Observation Journal" is an international science art project for artists and scientists.


Sergey Kishchenko on the project and research:
"In my opinion, the value of the “Observation Journal” project is in its conceptualization as one element of the global communications network, as well as in the area of history, art history, art theory, philosophy, science, etc. It is an attempt to introduce a touch of new knowledge into the global network. "Observation Journal" is a project about the future, without ideology of totalitarianism and death. Our sowing Field is the exploring site for new meanings, exchange, discoveries and communications, it is the ground to foster mutual understanding and tolerance".

Cooperation with the VIR allowed the artist to work at genetic databank, in archives, laboratories and experimental stations of the Institute with the active assistance of researchers.

Space of the VIR is the former Ministry of State Property of the Russian Empire is itself a frozen layer of history that allows us to discern tragic stages of the formation of our state - Russian Empire, Revolution, Repression, Siege (Leningrad Blockade), Stalinist Plan for the transformation of nature, Green Revolution, etc.

Sergey Kishchenko assiduously works with the historical context and space of the Institute, the biggest part of the exposition will be placed in the Scientific Agricultural Library of the Institute, one of the oldest in Russia, which has one of the largest collections of biological and agricultural documents.

The exhibition will feature a series of graphic and photographic works, installations and objects. The chronicle of the "Observation Journal" was created jointly with the Austrian partners RESANITA, the installation "Memory Limits" was created in collaborations with Scientific Agricultural Library.

The hypernormality of today gives us a new meaning to what “real world” is and proposes us the opportunity to think about how we can overcome the falling system. The artistic practices of the “Observation Journal” are connected to reinterpretation method which works through the multidisciplinary experiments. The artist transforms the reality by dividing it into the components and its components to the smaller ones and reinterpreting it to change and to widen the limits of perception.
Works
PROJECT
Press
Powered by

EN
СЕРГЕЙ КИЩЕНКО. ЖУРНАЛ НАБЛЮДЕНИЙ
23.11.2017 - 22.12.2017
Фонд содействия развитию современного искусства RuArts и Федеральное государственное бюджетное научное учреждение «Федеральный исследовательский центр Всероссийский институт генетических ресурсов растений имени Н.И. Вавилова» (ВИР) представляют проект Сергея Кищенко «Журнал наблюдений».

Выставка пройдет в ВИР (Санкт-Петербург, Большая Морская ул., 42) с 23 ноября по 22 декабря 2017. Открытие выставки 22 ноября в 18:00.

При поддержке Фонда содействия развитию современного искусства RuArts.

К 130-летию со дня рождения Николая Ивановича Вавилова


Художественный проект «Журнал наблюдений» начинался в 2014 году с исторического исследования и продолжился в 2015 году, как символическая реконструкция событий семидесятилетней давности, основанная на научной работе Н.И. Вавилова - истории спасения коллекции семян во время Блокады Ленинграда, собранных этим великим ученым и специалистами Всесоюзного института растениеводства (СССР) и судьбы части коллекции семян, захваченных нацистами на оккупированных восточных территориях, легших в основу экспериментальных посевов Института генетики растений СС, расположенном в Замке Ланнах (Schloss Lannach), неподалеку от города Грац в Австрии.

В процессе реконструкции, художник совместно с австрийскими партнерами группой RESANITA (Anita Fuchs, Resa Pernthaller), предполагали, что эмпирический опыт исторической реконструкции может стать источником объективного исторического знания и возможностью выхода за пределы медиарельности. Результатом этой работы стал лэнд-арт проект «Поле коммуникаций» («Field of Communication») - поле, выращенное художниками, было предъявлено как произведение искусства.

В 2016 году проект «Журнал наблюдений» привлек новых исследователей с обеих сторон – Российской и Австрийской, и упрочил уже существующие связи, благодаря этому работа над проектом продолжается по сей день. Проект «Журнал наблюдений» сегодня - это международный science art проект, в создании которого принимают участие художники и ученые.

Сергей Кищенко о проекте и исследовании:
«Ценность проекта «Журнал наблюдений», на мой взгляд, заключается в том, что он осмысляется как одно из звеньев в глобальной сети коммуникаций, в поле истории, истории искусства, теории искусства, философии, науки и так далее. Это попытка внести малую толику нового знания в эту глобальную сеть. “Журнал наблюдений” это проект о будущем, где нет идеологии тоталитаризма и смерти. Наше поле — это территория поиска новых смыслов, обмена, открытий и коммуникаций, территория, где мы культивируем взаимопонимание и толерантность».
Сотрудничество с Институтом им. Н.И.Вавилова (ВИР), позволило художнику работать в генетическом банке, в архивах, лабораториях и на экспериментальных станциях Института при активном содействии научных сотрудников.

Пространство Института им. Н.И.Вавилова (ВИР) (бывшее Министерство государственных имуществ Российской империи) представляет собой застывшие пласты истории, позволяющие разглядеть трагические этапы становления нашего государства - Российская империя, Революция, Репрессии, Блокада, Сталинский план преобразования природы, Зеленая революция и т.д.

Художник кропотливо работает с историческим контекстом и пространством Института, большая часть экспозиции будет размещена в Научной сельскохозяйственной библиотеке Института, одной из старейших в России, которая располагает одной из крупнейших коллекций биологических и сельскохозяйственных документов.

На выставке будут представлены серии графических и фотографических работ, инсталляции, объекты. Хроника проекта «Журнал наблюдений» создана совместно с австрийскими партнерами группой RESANITA (Anita Fuchs, Resa Pernthaller), инсталляция «Границы памяти» совместно с сотрудниками Научной сельскохозяйственной библиотеки.

Гипернормальность событий, происходящих в современном мире, постоянно дает повод для удивления и переосмысления, реальность невозможно не принимать всерьез и наоборот. Художественные практики проекта «Журнал наблюдений» плотно связаны с переосмыслением через междисциплинарный эксперимент – разбирая явления на составные части, переосмысляя и преобразуя их, художник стремится изменить и расширить границы восприятия.
Работы
ПРОЕКТ
Пресса
Powered by